Christian inspiration

Examine yourself

Sunshine’s Reflections

 

TFTD: Examine yourself

2 Corinthians 13:5 (NKJV)

Examine yourselves as to whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Do you not know yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?—unless indeed you are disqualified.

Every year I get a physical.  The doctor weighs me, looks me over, takes some blood samples, checks my vitals and blood pressure and all of this is done to make sure I am in good health.  It’s important to get a yearly examination because we can’t just assume that everything is okay.  We need to be examined in order to receive confirmation that everything is well.

The same is true for our spiritual body.  It’s important to examine ourselves.  “Why should I examine myself?  I know I am saved.” Is a statement you may quote to yourself.  I dare you to examine yourself against God’s word.  I dare you to examine your walk against the instructions of the Lord.  When was the last time you had a spiritual examination?  When was the last time you allowed God to look you over, check your vitals, take your blood pressure, check your heart condition, check your ability to forgive, examine your prayer life, or test out your devotional life?

Now you don’t have to give me an answer, but you should be true to yourself and answer this question honestly.  When I read this scripture, I had to stop and say when was the last time I received a spiritual examination?  How often do I receive a spiritual physical that will test my faith to make sure that I’m spiritually healthy?  As a believer, a wife, mother, employee, graduate student, ministry leader, author, encourager and more, my schedule can become full and hectic and there are periods of time when I need to stop and examine my life.  I do not have to examine my salvation because once I accepted Christ, He gave me the assurance that I am saved for all eternity.  However, I do need to examine my walk to make sure it lines up with my profession of salvation.  Sometimes I fall short and miss the mark, but because I examine myself I can see my errors and correct them according to God’s word.

So I challenge you and encourage you to examine yourself.  The same way you get a physical examination, you need to get a spiritual examination.  Don’t wait so long until things are a mess and you need spiritual surgery to repair the damage that you have done.  Get periodic check-ups that allow you to be proactive and combat bad habits and a weakened faith.

Examine yourself!

Have  a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

