Christian inspiration

Be content

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Forgive me for my absence.  I had midterms, papers and a presentation to work on.  Being a multi-tasking wife, mother, grad student and super woman is not easy.  (Giggling)  I curtsy to all of the strong women who do so much and make it look easy.  God is smiling on you for your awesome time management.

TFTD: Be content

Philippians 4:11 (NKJV)

11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content:

Let me jump right into today’s blog, as believers we have to learn to be content no matter what state we are in.  Let me make it personal, “I NEED TO LEARN TO BE CONTENT NO MATTER WHAT STATE I AM IN!”  Please re-read that last sentence if it applies to you. 

As a child of God, I should not and cannot operate like the people of this world.  I’m sorry, but I have encountered too many people who profess to be a child of God, but they complain about EVERYTHING!  If it’s a nice day, they complain about the sun being to bright.  If it’s rainy, they complain about it being a cold rain.  They are employed, but complain about EVERY aspect of their job.  They say with one breath, God is good all of the time.  Then in the next breath they say they don’t understand why they have to live the way they are living.  Now don’t get me wrong, I have been guilty of complaining as well, but during my journey with Christ I have been able to identify when I have to stop and recognize the blessing.  God is teaching me daily how to become more content.  The words we speak will become our thoughts and then our actions.  Our attitudes are contagious and it’s important to check the complaining at the door.  When you complain about everything, you are telling God He didn’t get anything right.  Is that what you really meant to say? 

Well what does content mean?  I am glad you asked.  Content is defined as desiring no more than what one has; to be satisfied.  Learn to become satisfied with what God has provided you in this season.  Please note, it doesn’t mean God will not bless you with more, but don’t complain about what you have in the now, learn to appreciate it. 

I dare you to be satisfied with your income instead of cursing the job you have.  Your income may not be all that you want it to be, but remember you are currently employed and that is a blessing in itself.  Learn to be content and appreciate how God has still provided for your household.  I encourage you to be content with your current living situation.  You may not have the house you want, but thank God for having a place to rest at night.  Learn to be satisfied with the things and resources God has placed for you in this season. 

Think about it for a moment; if God blessed you with things now and you can’t even appreciate them, why would He bless you with more?  Where is the level of humility and gratitude in what God has given you right now?

I encourage you, as God encouraged me, to learn to be content no matter what state you are in.  Please note, this does not mean to settle for less, it means to find value and satisfaction in the blessings given at all levels.  One day God will bless you with more, but He wants to see if you can appreciate smaller things in the wilderness. 

I pray that God continues to guard our hearts, our tongues, our attitudes and keep us humble.  I pray that we learn to be content no matter what life looks like.  I am satisfied with Christ and I want to show Him that I am grateful for everything He has given me, from the smallest of blessings to the largest blessings.  How about you?

Stop complaining so much.  Stop comparing your life to others.  Stop bashing the blessings that sit at your table.  Stop cursing the doors that have been opened for you.  Learn to be content!

God bless.  Have a wonderful weekend!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

