Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

My Lifestyle Change Journey 2008-2012

Morning y’all! 

This is the day the Lord has made, I choose to rejoice and be glad in it. 

I wanted to take this time to share a glimpse of my journey to better spiritual and physical health.  As a multi-tasking woman of God,  I use to be so busy that I forgot to take care of myself.  I was everything to everyone else, but nothing for myself.  My weight was spiraling out of control and no one was there to help me.  I realized weight was and is such a sensitive subject that is plaguing the lives of so many people and I was tired of hanging in the shadows of my tight size 18’s.  I WANTED A CHANGE!  I knew how to lose weight; I just never knew how to keep it off.  What was wrong with me?  Why couldn’t I get it together?  Then a sweet voice whispered, “You are trying to do it by yourself.”

Ding, ding, ding!  I tried to do something without consulting God and I failed time and time again.  But this time would be different.  In July 2008, I got married and decided this will be the year I lose weight.  A few months later my Nana died.  I turned to food to comfort me.  Then I found out I was pregnant a month later.  “Lord, how can I lose weight while I’m pregnant” I screamed!  Nothing was working the way I wanted to.  (Notice, I said the way “I” wanted)  Although, it didn’t seem like things were working, God had a plan for my life.  During my pregnancy I gained about 10 lbs thanks to the guidance of my mid-wife.  After my pregnancy, I nursed my son and lost weight.  The scale was moving in the opposite direction I was used to it moving.  YEAH!!!!  I’m getting smaller.  Then life hit and I was yo-yoing up and down again.  What in the world was wrong?  I would lose and gainBefore and after NE Weight journey 2012 and gain and lose.  Was I missing something? *shrugs shoulders*  

On December 2010, I went in for my physical and the doctor said my blood pressure was border line high and my cholesterol was border line high.  WHAT IN THE WORLD!!!  I’ve always had great physicals!  I mean I know I was thick, but I was healthy, right?  ENOUGH ALREADY!  This was what I needed to hear.  THIS WAS MY WAKE UP CALL!  After that appointment I went to God and said,

“Lord, forgive me.  I suffer with emotional eating.  Forgive me for not trusting you with my problems.  Forgive me for turning to food to comfort my wounds.  Forgive me!  I need your help.  I need you to help me!”

This confession to God was the key I needed to unlock my chains of “weight bondage”.  I stopped trying to do it on my own and started seeking God.  I was instructed to fast in January 2011 and I did.  By the end of my fast, I was introduced to Weight Watchers and I joined.  I was instructed to rise early for devotions and I did.  I spent more time at God’s feet that I began seeing Him for who He is.  He is my strength, my provider, my friend, my Savior, my rescuer, my EVERYTHING!  I ended my emotional affair with my food and began a spiritual faith-walk with Jesus.  God began releasing the spiritual weights from my life that kept me bound emotionally and physically.  In January 2012, I was instructed to fast and I did.  My faith was tested and I passed the test.  I saw God in a new light.  The more I focused on getting my spirit in shape, the more weight I lost in the physical.  Fast-forward to today, I’m 60 lbs.  lighter and I’m on fire for God.  Yes, when God speaks I listen.  My way doesn’t work.  God’s way is the only way to make it!

The below scriptures bless me daily. 1. I’m a new creature in Christ and all of my old habits and behaviors have to pass away. 2. The world can’t overcome me because I believe in God.  Therefore I will be victorious! 

2 Corinthians 5:17(NKJV)

17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

1 John 5:5 (NKJV)

Who is he who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?

Be blessed and know that your life can change!  Take care of your spirit man and watch your physical man submit to the will of God!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "Lifestyle Change: Spiritual Journey to Physical Weight Loss" (6)

  1. Clark, Linda said:

    YOU’RE SOOOOOO BEAUTIFUL (INSIDE & OUT!!!)…AND I’M SOOOOOOOOOOO PROUD OF YOU!!!

    Love you and give love to the family!!
    Momma Linda

  2. Girl, we need to talk.

    As you prabably know, I am in this area now, living with my parents in Chesapeake while we are looking for a home. To make a long long story short, I too am on a spiritual journey to physical weight loss and better health. The best part of it for me is that I am growing less and less self focused with each pound I lose. In 2010 I lost 40 pounds by simnply surrenedering myself to God instead of the food. I becamse pregnant and after an extended stay in the hospital and months of bedrest the weight came back on. I struggled for months not able to lose a pound after the baby but then my husband lost his job. I had nothing but God getting me through the days and ten pounds dropped off my body just from surrender alone. We got a job offer in July and had to relocate here. Anxiety and worry held the pounds onto me and i yo0yoed. Then finally last month, God becamse to break through to me about so many things I had been trying to figure out myself without his help. Now everyday, I am more focused on God then the weight. I can pass the scale and not jump on because God is so much more important, yet he blesses me with the weight loss anyway because it is a desire of my heart. I know there are a ton of typos in this but I had to get this out quickly to get back to the kids.

    Call me or write back so we can talk. I really need a friend and a prayer partner in this area and in this area.

    Mia Smith

  3. Thanks for today’s Sunshine Reflection Blog. It came just at the right time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

