Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good afternoon!  I’m back in action and ready for the new year!  Let’s make it great!

TFTD: Trust in Jesus-He will equip you to FINISH!

2 Samuel 7:28 (NIV)

28 Sovereign Lord, you are God! Your covenant is trustworthy, and you have promised these good things to your servant.

Psalm 31:14 (NIV)

14 But I trust in you, Lord; I say, “You are my God.”

Tuesday and Thursday mornings I run 3 miles and sometimes more.  There was something different today.  This mornings run was mentally and physically tough.  I wanted to quit around .5 miles into the run.  My body was tired and sore.  My mind said just quit.  I was in a mental and physical tug-of-war.  I started telling myself  “I’ll stop at one mile”, then mile one came and went. Then I said I would stop at 1.5 miles and that came and went.  I said surely I’ll stop at 2 miles.  I had to check myself because my self talk was not positive.  I found myself negotiating to quit.  (A champion in Christ shouldn’t negotiate with the mind to quit.)   I finally made it to the last street and I cried out, “Lord, help me to finish!”  You know God hears you when you cry out to Him.   And in His still quiet voice, I heard God ask me “Do you trust Me to finish?”  My answer was yes, but I didn’t answer with my mouth, I answered with my limbs.  I pushed my legs and feet to finish.  The last mile I just called on the name JESUS–literally.  I lifted my right hand and cried JESUS!  There is power in that name. 
 
This morning was a “Do you trust Jesus to help you finish” moment.  My self talk was not one of confidence, I was speaking in defeat.  It’s important to check your self talk and check who you trust.  No matter what you are facing in life when you trust in Jesus, He will equip you to finish.  No matter if you want to go to school, get a new job, start a new business, raise a family, etc.  Jesus is able to qualify you for what man says you don’t qualify for.  Jesus is able to equip you with the resources to get the job done.  Start pleading with God to help you finish what you have started instead of planning to quit.  Stop secretly sabotaging your success by sewing seeds of doubt in your mind and heart.   No one said everything you do will be easy, but the reward comes when you endure til the end.
 
Put your trust in the Lord and not in man.  That means you have to stop putting trust in your ability and put it in God’s ability.  This morning I wanted to quit and there are times when the task may seem too big, but that’s because I’m measuring the task up to my abilities.  I need to continue measuring it up against God’s ability to do great things through me.  God is able to do it!  Trust in the Lord and watch Him turn your life around!
 
~Will you trust Him?  There is something you have started or you are about to start, but you have already considered quitting, will you change your self talk and trust in the Lord to get you to the finish line? 
 
I pray you have a blessed day and learn to lean on Christ and not on your own understanding.  God bless!
 
Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

