Christian inspiration

Poetry Corner -I surrender

Poetry Corner

Happy Thursday!  Or better yet, Happy Friday-Eve!!!

I surrender

by: Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis

For years I’ve been trying to do things my own way

I’ve been taught right from wrong

I even know what the Word of God says

But too many times I allow my flesh to rule

Sin tries to take dominion

Resulting in me looking like a fool

I surrender

Lord, I don’t want to live like this anymore

I keep putting my hope in things and people

I am running to you and banging on the door

Your Word, says knock and you will answer

We’ll I’m banging with all my might

I will no longer allow sin to run me

I’m fighting back for my life

I surrender

I give up my selfish ways

There is nothing positive from sin

It leaves me miserable and shortens my days

Lord, I need you

Come purge me and empty me of self

Fill me with your Spirit

Increase my spiritual wealth

I’m tired of fighting

I’m tired of going against the grain

I’m ready to submit to your will

I surrender it all in Jesus Name

 

As believers, our first act of surrender is when we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior.  But it’s important to take time in prayer and fasting throughout your Christian journey to surrender bad habits, sinful attitudes and beliefs.  Just because you are saved it doesn’t mean you are exempt from sin.  Take a moment to examine the areas in your life in which you need to surrender to Christ and take them to Him.  Christ is waiting to help you, but you have to go to Him and surrender.

Have a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "Poetry Corner -I surrender" (1)

  1. Paula L. said:

    Hello Sunshine. I’m really enjoying your blog!! Very inspiring! Your poem “I SURRENDER” expresses my exact thoughts/feelings . Thanks for inspiring me and I wish u nothing but God’s blessings! Keep up the great work/blog and your healthy, spiritual lifestyle!!

Leave a Reply

