Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

It’s Friday.  Excuse me while I cut a step.  (I love the weekends)

TFTD: Spiritual beatings are necessary

Hebrews 12:11 (NIV)

11 No discipline seems pleasant at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it produces a harvest of righteousness and peace for those who have been trained by it.

During my spiritual journey, I had a simple request to grow deeper in Christ.  Not as simple as I thought!  Anytime you request to get closer to Christ you will come face-to-face with your unclean ways.  You will enter a season of purging and spiritual beatings.  Yes, the Father will begin beating some ugly things out of you and off of you.

As a child, I never enjoyed beatings, but as an adult I’ve grown to see the value in the discipline that was given so many years ago.  The same way our earthly parents had to discipline us is the same way our heavenly Father must discipline us.  Spiritual beatings are worst than physical beatings in my opinion.  The physical beating produces a pain, but it will go away quicker than a spiritual beating.  When God begins disciplining you with His word and placing your life, actions, and thoughts up against His standard, it can be painful.  It’s mainly painful because of pride and denial.  Nobody wants to volunteer their shortcomings.  Nobody wants to admit, yes I need to change this or that, but it’s necessary.

When your hearts desire is to decrease in order for Christ to increase within your life, then a spiritual beating or two is necessary.  God has to begin purging your heart and mind of things that are not pleasing to Him.  But wait, there’s good news!!!  Although the spiritual beatings are painful, later on it will produce a harvest of righteousness and peace.  Yes, the reward outweighs the punishment.  I’d rather have God beat me to glory than to allow me to carry myself to hell.  No matter how saved you think you are, you always need to be corrected by the Father in heaven because we are sinful creatures by nature.

It’s time to change our perspective and say, “Lord, I thank you for the spiritual beatings you give me daily.  I know you discipline me because you love me.  Help me to see the value in the spiritual correction and to rejoice in advance for the peace that will come from changing my sinful ways.”

I pray you all have a blessed day and remember spiritual beatings are necessary.  Have a wonderful weekend…Until next week.

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

