Christian inspiration

I want to be free

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Happy Wednesday to you all.  We have successfully made it to the middle of the week.  I pray that God continues to bless you and keep you during this journey.  Make the best out of today.

TFTD: I want to be free

John 8:31-32 (NKJV)

31 Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. 32 And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

How many of you want to be free?  Well I know that I want to be free.  I want to be free from the chains that are holding me in bondage.  During my spiritual journey, God has been revealing to me through His word, what things and behaviors have been keeping me in bondage.  When was the last time you asked God to set you free?

John 8:31-32 tells us that when we abide in God’s word we will know the truth and the truth shall make us free.  One of the biggest struggles in this Christian walk is totally surrendering to God’s word and His way.  Why is this difficult?  It’s difficult because it requires us to take God’s truth against our truth.  Everything you have been taught to believe in is now challenged by the Word of God and most of the time our way of thinking is WRONG!  Yes, we often keep ourselves in bondage because we hold on to beliefs that are filled with lies and contradictions.  OUCH!!!  It is only when we get to know God and surrender to Him that we can know the truth and be set free.

It’s time out for stubbornness.  I know you’ve been doing this all of your life, you’ve developed certain attitudes from your family, you’ve created your own belief system, but I am here to tell you that what you think, if it does not line up with the will and Word of God is wrong.  We have the power to step out of bondage once we stop accepting the lies we’ve been telling ourselves all of our lives.  No it’s not okay to complain, no it’s not okay to curse people out because they made you mad, no it’s not okay to shack up, no it’s not okay to engage in premarital sex just because you want to marry this person, no it’s not okay to talk about people behind their back and smile in their face, no it’s not okay to be prideful, and the list goes on.  It’s time to stop living a life filled with lies and embrace God’s truth.

I want to be free and that means I have to allow God to change my heart and my mind.  Once my heart and mind change then I can begin changing my habits.  I can begin living in truth.  You can begin living in truth and the truth will SET YOU FREE!

Have a blessed day.

 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "I want to be free" (1)

  1. Amazed I am Nik on how God ordered my steps and basically pushed me (in my spirit of course) to read you post. I am thanking Him so much for leading me here on this day at this time. These words are so relative to what I am going through, still battling, and overcoming in Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

