Christian inspiration

I’ll Run Til I Finish

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Happy Friday!  We have made it to the end of a work/school week.  I don’t know about you, but that made me rejoice.  It’s been a long week, but bless God we’ve made it.

TFTD: I’ll Run Til I Finish

Hebrews 12:1 (NKJV)

12 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,

Ecclesiastes 9:11 (NIV)

11 I have seen something else under the sun:

The race is not to the swift or the battle to the strong, nor does food come to the wise or wealth to the brilliant or favor to the learned;
but time and chance happen to them all.

Tomorrow, February 9, 2013, I will be running in the Virginia Is For Lover’s 14k (8.7 miles).  The farthest I have ever ran was 7.21 miles, but tomorrow I have positioned in my mind that I will run til I finish.  I’ve been training and preparing for this day and I believe that God will be with me and that I will finish the race.  No matter the obstacles or distractions that may come my way, I’ll run til I finish.  I printed off the course map the other day and 8.7 miles is a long way to run, but I am choosing to trust God knowing that I am prepared and I’ll run til I finish.  I battled a stomach virus last week that tried to interrupt my training, but in spite of the distractions I am going to run til I finish.  I encountered ankle soreness and my mind said you may not be able to run, but God is a healer and tomorrow I’ll run til I finish.

It’s important to have this same attitude in our spiritual walk.  We are going to encounter things and pressures from this world that will weigh us down and convince us to “sit” down on Christ and stop living, but I dare you to trust Him and throw down those weights and keep running this race called life.  As believers, we are preparing and going through training daily.  Sometimes distractions try to get in our way, but we are equipped to run the race God set before us.  We can endure to the end if we choose to run til we finish.  How many of you have made up your minds that you will run til you finish?

I know you may be looking at other people and thinking they are doing much better than you, but looks can be deceiving.  Don’t compare yourself to others.  The race is not given to the swift.  So what they received a promotion before you, got married, got a house, living in a life of luxury, it doesn’t mean they are better than you.  Their race may be on a different course.  They may be running a 5k of life while you are running a marathon.  No matter where you are in life run til you finish.

Tomorrow, I am running til I finish.  It doesn’t matter how fast I go, it doesn’t matter if I come in first or last.  All that matters is I am prepared and I will run til I finish.  In my spiritual walk, I have made up in my mind come distractions, fear, temptation, upsets, setbacks, etc.  I’ll Run Til I Finish.  God has a medal for us on the other side.  Don’t give up the fight.  Run your race at your pace and watch God bless you!

Have a blessed day and a safe weekend! 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

