Christian inspiration

Poetry Corner

Happy Monday to you all!  I pray you had a blessed weekend.  Happy President’s day to everyone who has the holiday off.  I’ll be at work smiling and praising God for employment while celebrating everyone who gets to rest today!  Make the best of your day no matter where you are!

Matthew 16:24-25 (NIV)

24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. 25 For whoever wants to save their life[a] will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.

Self-denial

by: Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis

I was born into this world many years ago

Where life would lead me nobody knows

Although I was alive and moving around

Without Christ, I was ultimately hell bound

I didn’t start living until I accepted Christ

Once He became my Savior, my life started going right

However, there was one more thing required of me

I had to deny-myself and follow Thee

I had to deny myself of my fleshly desires

I had to take up my cross in order to go higher

Higher in Christ is where I want to be

But I can’t get there if I focus on pleasing the flesh within me

Self-denial-Sacrificing my personal pleasures

It’s a necessary means to reach my spiritual endeavors

I’d rather forgo things that will please my flesh

And feed my spirit so God can get the best

The best of me including a sincere heart

It’s time for me and my flesh to part

~What are you willing to sacrifice in order to grow closer to Christ?  Would you rather feed your flesh or feed your spirit?  Take time to examine your life and see if you are willing to deny yourself in order to gain the things of God. 

Have a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "Poetry Corner “Self-denial”" (2)

  1. Sylvia Upshur said:

    Thank you.. I so needed that this am.

Leave a Reply

