Christian inspiration

My Life is Not My Own

Sunshine’s Reflections

Lifestyle Change -before and after 2013

Good morning!  Happy Wednesday to you all!

TFTD: My Life is Not My Own

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV)

19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

During my journey to grow closer to Christ, I discovered I wasn’t honoring God with my body.  I was overeating, not getting adequate rest, I was stressing and the list goes on.  I totally mistreated my body and didn’t realize it.  It wasn’t until I desperately sought God that I saw the plank in my eye.  He reminded me that my life is not my own and I was brought at a price.  How dare I walk around mistreating the temple in which Christ dwells?  How effective can I be in the kingdom if I am out of breath, struggling with emotional eating, serving food as a “mini” god, bringing on health issues that I can control and more.  I had to do better.  We have to do better.

Children of God, obesity is a sin.  We have to stop being held hostage by food and our emotions.  We are slowly killing ourselves with food and the only One who can save us is God.  How are you honoring God with your body?  Do you fill it with alcohol, do you over indulge in food, do you satisfy your lust or do you contaminate it with lies?  We have to remember our life is not our own.  I am determined to life a life that is pleasing to Christ.

Living a healthy spiritual life means we have to get our physical and emotional life in order as well.  Don’t try to do it on your own.  Seek God first and watch Him show you how to honor Him with your body.  Do you love God enough to take care of His dwelling place?  The moment I sought God to increase my spiritual well-being is the moment He began transforming my physical, mental and emotional well-being.  My life is not my own and I will use my body to serve and honor God!

What will you do to honor God with your body?

Have a blessed day!  Enjoy your day! 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "My Life is Not My Own" (2)

  1. Clark, Linda said:

    Soooooooooooooooo proud of you and your journey, beautiful one!!!

    Love ‘ya!!
    Mom Linda

  2. So awesome. I have been praying for a partner in this journey. It is all about transformation and the physical is a perk when God begins to transform our thinking. Obesity is a sin. God has dealt with me about my food idol and how I was going to it for things that God wanted to be to me. God bless you my sister. I will call you soon.
    Mia Smith

Leave a Reply

