Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Happy Monday to you all.  I pray you all had a blessed weekend.  I had a glorious time in the Lord.  I’m excited about what God is going to do through my family.  He is truly a wonder.

TFTD: Being Comfort can become Crippling

Romans 12:1-2 (NIV)

12 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

This morning, I want to talk about how being comfortable can become crippling.  As believers, we are not exempt from sin.  We have struggles just like the next person, but the difference is we should have a relationship with Christ that compels us to sin less.  As children of God, we can not become comfortable living in sin.  When we begin making excuses for sin we cripple our chances of growing in Christ.  We place barriers up that keep us from reaching our goals and dreams.  Is being comfortable worth blocking your blessings?

Some of you may have prayed for God to open doors in your life as it relates to careers, education, relationships, etc.  You’ve prayed for God to open doors, but you are currently comfortable in the position you are in.  You are comfortable on that job that you have even though you desire more and are qualified for more.  You are comfortable with not studying or writing papers even though you are longing to get an advanced degree.  You are comfortable in that relationship even though you want more and you know you will not get it where you are.  Your comfort is crippling you.  When God wants to elevate you, it will require change.  Change is never comfortable!  I repeat, change is never comfortable.  When God begins shifting things in your life, you are taken from a familiar place or condition to the unknown.  This shifting process requires a level of faith that will surpass your understanding.  The level of discomfort is temporary, but it’s a necessary process of life.

Are you willing to become uncomfortable for a season in order to get to the next level?  Or are you willing to remain bound in mediocrity all for the sake of being comfortable? 

Take time to really evaluate the position you are currently in and figure out if you are willing to change to go higher. 

~Have a blessed Monday!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "Being Comfortable can become Crippling" (4)

  1. Oh Sunshine Thank you so much! I need to hear this every day almost. I am so happy in my comfort zone but my soul is longing and dreaming of more. My ego is my weakness, and how much the next level will expect from me is my fear. I never used to be afraid of what life would take from me in the pursuit of gaining something worthwhile, but it seems a cloud that hangs around sometimes. Like what am I going to have to sacrifice next in order to get from here to there?? I have sacrificed so much in the past and it hurt, even though God brought back more joy than I can explain. I am happy here, I sacrificed more easily when I was faced with ‘having to’ when it seemed the only choice, but this time I don’t ‘have to’ so it is scarier..does that make sense? Blessings to you Sister!

    • That totally makes sense. We have to remember what the word says in 2 Timothy 1:7 “For God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” Fear doesn’t come from God. We have to recognize that it’s a trick of the enemy. The enemy wants to paralyze us with fear to keep us from tapping into our purpose. The enemy dangles our comfort zone in front of us like a carrot in front of a horse and we keep following it aimlessly, not realizing that our destiny wants to take us somewhere greater. It’s time to bust out of our comfort zone and jump into the lake of faith and swim. I know we don’t know how deep the water is, but God will be our floatation device. Trust Him!!!

      • Yes you are right. Its funny how easily I see the enemy in many things and then am blinded by other even more subtle ways he tries to effect my life. Wonderful words of encouragement. Thank you!

  2. […] read this awesome post Being Comfortable can Become Crippling and it hit me in the core of my being. It made me realise something […]

Leave a Reply

