Christian inspiration

It’s a process

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Happy Tuesday to you all!  All Hail King Jesus!  I give glory and honor to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ because His grace and mercy continues to carry me through the easiest and the toughest days.  Take time to give God praise!

TFTD: It’s a process

Ephesians 4:22-24 (NKJV)

22 that you put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, 23 and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, 24 and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.

This morning I was reflecting on my weight loss journey during my 5am run.  Sometimes I have several weeks of consistent large weight loss and then there are other times where I will slowing battle out of one weight range for 3-4 weeks.  I lose .2lbs., .4lbs, .2lbs, .6lbs., and so forth.  “Slow and steady wins the race”, words shared from a friend.  While reflecting on my weight loss journey God reminded me that weight loss is a process.  He also reminded me that combatting sin is a process.  I love how God can take practical situations and make them plan in the spiritual sense. 

As long as we are living we will sin. Romans 3:23 says, “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.  There is no one walking on this earth who has not sinned.  We ALL have sinned!  So remember that.  And if you know someone who says they don’t sin, then they are a liar.  1 John 1:8 says, “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.”  In order to combat sin and resist the temptation to sin, we have to acknowledge that we are sinners.  As believers, we are sinners saved by grace.  Just because you get saved it doesn’t mean you will never sin again.  The focus is to grow deeper in Christ so we can decrease the level of sin we participate in.  It’s a process.

So, let me share what God revealed to me.  He told me to look at the times when I lose large amounts of weight as me conquering sins that I will never repeat again.  I’ve sinned, repent, and never will encounter those things again.  The weight of that sin has permanently left my heart.  Now, look at the moments when I take longer to lose 1lb. as a sin that I constantly struggle with and I have to slowly chip away from that desire to sin in that area.  He reminded me, it’s a process.  There will be times when I have to work extremely hard to consistently chip away at the desires to repeat a certain sin.  The same goes for you.  It’s a process. 

Every day we have to make a decision to clothe ourselves with righteousness.  We have a choice to put on sin or put on righteousness.  Each day we will sin, but the deeper we grow in Christ the more we should actively try to combat sin.  Remember it’s a process.  Don’t rush the process.  Learn what God needs you to learn and eventually you will get to the point where you will never sin in that area again.  Then it will be on to the next. 

I encourage you to seek God daily and guard your mind and heart from things and people that will tempt you to sin.  You can do it with Christ!

Have a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

