Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Happy Friday to you all!

TFTD: There are blessings on obedience

Deuteronomy 28:1-8 (NKJV)

 

28 “Now it shall come to pass, if you diligently obey the voice of the Lord your God, to observe carefully all His commandments which I command you today, that the Lord your God will set you high above all nations of the earth. And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you, because you obey the voice of the Lord your God:

“Blessed shall you be in the city, and blessed shall you be in the country.

“Blessed shall be the fruit of your body, the produce of your ground and the increase of your herds, the increase of your cattle and the offspring of your flocks.

“Blessed shall be your basket and your kneading bowl.

“Blessed shall you be when you come in, and blessed shall you be when you go out.

“The Lord will cause your enemies who rise against you to be defeated before your face; they shall come out against you one way and flee before you seven ways.

“The Lord will command the blessing on you in your storehouses and in all to which you set your hand, and He will bless you in the land which the Lord your God is giving you.

 

Today my husband and I are celebrating our fifth anniversary.  I am in awe by the grace of God that has covered our marriage.  I have a new understanding and appreciation for the phrase, “God’s grace is sufficient.”  God’s grace is defined as undeserved favor and I’m a living testimony that the love I receive from my husband is a piece of the undeserved favor God has blessed me with.  I attribute the blessings that I encounter in life to my obedience to God’s word.  Now don’t take my word for it, instead search the scriptures and see what God says about being obedient to His commands.

Deuteronomy 28:1-8 is an awesome reminder of the blessings that will fall over your life if you live in obedience to God’s word.  You have to be diligent in serving the Lord.  You can’t just serve Him on Sunday and forsake Him the rest of the week and expect to be blessed.  You can’t praise God at church, but curse your neighbors the rest of the week and expect to be blessed.  You have to be deliberate about studying the Word daily.  You have to feed on the Word of God in order to live a life that is pleasing to the Lord.  How can you follow God’s commandments if you don’t know what they are?  You must study to show yourself approved.  (2 Timothy 2:15)

When you obey the word of God you will be set high above the nations of the earth.  I don’t know about you, but I want to go higher in Christ.  The blessings that you receive from God should be evidence of your obedience to Him.  If you are always suffering and always going through and claim to never have any good days then I would venture out to say you are not obedient to God.  I know I may have stepped on someone’s toes, but if the shoe fits wear it and if you don’t like it take that shoe off and put on a new pair.  Yes, the Lord reigns on the just and the unjust, but if you have more bad days than good days, I would highly suggest you check your spiritual walk.

I don’t know about you, but I want to be used by God.  I want to serve Him and shine His light to the world.  I want people to see the evidence of Christ in my walk.  I want people to desire to come to Christ.  I want to live a life that is pleasing to God and one day I want to hear, “Well done!!!”  The blessings of God, the grace of God, the unmerited favor of God is available to everyone who follow Him.

There are blessings attached to your obedience.  Are you being obedient to God in your walk?

I wish you all a Happy Friday!  Have a blessed day and a safe weekend! 

 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

