Christian inspiration

Poetry Corner

Good morning.  I pray your week has been a productive one. 

October is reserved as Domestic Violence awareness month.  As the month reaches a close, I would like to share a poem written for Domestic Violence Survivors.  It’s important that we become aware of the issues that are plaguing our community.  Domestic violence takes place 365 days of the year.  Take time to educate yourself on warning signs because it might save your life or someone elses.  Be blessed. 

Broken but Healed

By: Nicole L. Ellis, MBA

  

Shattered vertebrae in the small of my back

A result of his perception that I had talked smack

Broken nose bruised and discolored

I bore his children and obviously he didn’t respect their mother

Blackened eye masked with foundation and shades

This was the day he didn’t approve of the food I’d made

Battered emotions stripped of my self-esteem

This life I was living became my worst nightmare and not a sweet dream

Crushed trachea, I no longer could scream

His hands squeeze tightly around my neck and didn’t allow me to flee

Torn heart slowly bleeding out

Words cut deeper than a weapon, sometimes a whisper often a shout

I’ve been broken and beaten

I’ve wanted to die

I thought he loved me

But I was tired of living a lie

Something within me burned like a fire

I was no longer going to be a victim; it was time for me to go higher

Bandaged physically only covered the exterior

For complete healing I needed someone Superior

Spiritually I became transformed from the inside out

I was bound and bruised, but now I’m free to shout

I WAS BROKEN…

YOU TRIED TO GET RID OF ME

NOW I’M HEALED AND MOVING TOWARDS MY DESTINY!

 

I was Broken, but now I am HEALED!

©2013

Have a blessed day. 

Domestic Violence victims can become VICTORS!  Seek God on how you can help and educate those around you!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

