Christian inspiration

Poetry Corner

Good morning.  As a poetess, I wanted to share how I feel as a woman of color.  This poem is celebrating the skin that I am in.  Happy Black History Month.

 

My black is beautiful

by: Nicole L. Ellis

My black is beautiful and comes in various shades

Skin smooth as chocolate, I must be heaven made

A descendent of kings and queens

I was created to embody the finer things

More precious than gems and stones

The beauty I exude goes all the way to the bone

Bole, Bronze, Brown, Camel or Coffee

In 365 days I transform into more than what the naked eye can see

A rainbow of hues that is shared with the world

My black is beautiful and I’m a pretty brown girl

Some say that my black absorbs the light

I am filled with the Spirit so when I smile it’s extra bright

There is nothing derogatory that anyone can say to me

Embracing who I am allows me to be free

When famous dishes are blackened they are seasoned beyond perfection

Calling someone black to offend is a common misconception

Being “in the black” is a profitable term

So I guess my black is used to affirm

Affirm who God created me to be

My black is beautiful and I love ME!!!

Happy Black History Month! 

If you are an African-American, learn to love the skin that you are in.  Find the positives for being you.  God created you.  Learn to love yourself more!!! 

 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

