Christian inspiration

Complain Less

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good afternoon! Happy Friday to you all!

TFTD: Complain less

James 5:9-12 (The Message)

9 Friends, don’t complain about each other. A far greater complaint could be lodged against you, you know. The Judge is standing just around the corner.

10-11 Take the old prophets as your mentors. They put up with anything, went through everything, and never once quit, all the time honoring God. What a gift life is to those who stay the course! You’ve heard, of course, of Job’s staying power, and you know how God brought it all together for him at the end. That’s because God cares, cares right down to the last detail.

12 And since you know that he cares, let your language show it. Don’t add words like “I swear to God” to your own words. Don’t show your impatience by concocting oaths to hurry up God. Just say yes or no. Just say what is true. That way, your language can’t be used against you.

This week I have been reading and studying the book of James. Today I came across the above passage and the Message translation really stood out to me. We have to complain less. I know it’s impossible to stop complaining all together; however, we have to do better. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be judged for complaining about things or people. I want to demonstrate to God that I have a grateful heart.

Did you know when you complain about the people in your life and the things you possess, it’s like you are telling God, “This isn’t good enough, you could have done better!” Harsh, right? Think about it,  since Jesus is our great provider, if we complain about our job, our spouse, our kids, our home, our health, our friends, etc., it’s like us looking Him in the face saying, “YO JESUS, I could have done better.” OUCH!!! This really hit me. If we look at the people who have gone before us, like grand parents, great grand parents, and others, they went through far more than we did and had much less than we have today and they rarely complained. They never gave up or gave in. On the contrary, they gave God praise and did it with a smile.

What is our problem?

We are considered privileged compared to other countries and our ancestors, yet we murmur and complain. The audacity! I don’t know about you, but I’m sick of myself right now. I don’t complain often, but I complain too much for my liking and I’m sure too much for God’s liking. I encourage you to complain less and stay the course. God cares about us. He loves us so much that He showers us with grace and mercy each day. Show God you are grateful by praising Him. Embrace where you are and celebrate the blessings you have, it could be worst.

Take time to really examine your life and even journal every time you complain. What are you complaining about? Is it even valid? Is it worth the energy to complain when God has been so good to you? I don’t know about you, but I am making a vow to God that I will complain less. I am too blessed to question what He gives me and how He gives it to me.

Have a grateful heart.

Have a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

Comments on: "Complain Less" (1)

  1. Sylvia Upshur said:

    Ronald.Moore 2@va.gov

    IStillBelongToGod

Leave a Reply

