Christian inspiration

When enough is enough…

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good afternoon! Happy Wednesday to you. We have successfully made it to the middle of the week! Hallelujah!

TFTD: When enough is enough…

Ephesians 4:22-24New King James Version (NKJV)

22 that you put off, concerning your former conduct, the old man which grows corrupt according to the deceitful lusts, 23 and be renewed in the spirit of your mind, 24 and that you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.

Ephesians 4:22-24The Message (MSG)

20-24 But that’s no life for you. You learned Christ! My assumption is that you have paid careful attention to him, been well-instructed in the truth precisely as we have it in Jesus. Since, then, we do not have the excuse of ignorance, everything—and I do mean everything—connected with that old way of life has to go. It’s rotten through and through. Get rid of it! And then take on an entirely new way of life—a God-fashioned life, a life renewed from the inside and working itself into your conduct as God accurately reproduces his character in you.

 

Have you ever reached the point in your life when enough is enough? I know I have. I find that many people talk about being fed up, but they aren’t truly tired. I’m a firm believer when you get sick and tired of being sick and tired you will do whatever it takes to change. Most of the change that is needed in our lives lies within. It doesn’t have anything to do with other people or circumstances, but everything to do with who we are and how we are living. I would suggest that a lot of people are just tired. They are uninterested, uninspired and bored. They are tired, but not sick and tired. So now they walk around aimlessly complaining about life, but never attaching action to their situation.

I love how the message translation of Ephesians 4:22-24 reads. It is straight to the point. It doesn’t get any clearer than that. When you know who Christ is and turn your life to Him you can’t walk around in ignorant bliss. You have to own up to who you are and what you are doing in your life. Stop making excuses about your life. Your past does not define you and your present does not dictate who you will become UNLESS you allow it. Everything that was associated with your former unsaved life has to go. You have to make a decision to let go of the bad habits and damaging relationships. Get rid of anything that is not like God and don’t look back. The problem with most people is they don’t want to take personal accountability for their decisions. It’s easy when you use other people and circumstances as a scapegoat for your misfortune and failures, but I dare you to look in the mirror and call yourself out. Call out every excuse and sin and give it to God.

When you are truly sick and tired of the way you live life by dibbling and dabbling in Christ then you will pick up your new way of living and follow God totally. Learn to live a life that is renewed from the inside out. I’m a living witness, I’m not perfect, but I practice daily to get things right with God. I am who I am today because I was sick and tired of the status quo. God created me to be great and I could feel it. I could no longer make excuses for my sin because it was killing me slowly. I wanted to live and I decided to give up my old way of living for a new way-God’s way. Yes, I performed my eulogy over my former self and I’m no longer resurrecting dead things. I am walking in the newness of life.

When will enough be enough for you? What are you willing to give up? What are you willing to let go of? What are you willing to lay at God’s feet in order to take up a new way of living? Are you sick and tired or just tired?

Take time to really evaluate your life and decide it’s time to start LIVING a life that is pleasing to God. There is peace in serving God. There is favor in living for God. There is greatness waiting for you.

Have a blessed day!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

Consider making a contribution to a life changing project. Click link to donate: http://www.gofundme.com/b0n5sc

Leave a Reply

