Christian inspiration

Beyond the surface

Poetry Corner

Domestic Violence Facts:

  1.  85% of domestic violence victims are women.
  2. Domestic violence is the leading cause of injury to women – more than car accidents, muggings, and rapes combined.
  3. 1/2 of all homeless women and children in the U.S. are fleeing from domestic violence.

 

Beyond the surface

by: Nicole L. Ellis, MBA

I look in mirror and I never see

Visible marks staring back at me

He claims he doesn’t hurt me

And the truth is I don’t even see the scars

But the hurt I am experiencing makes me feel like I’ve been beaten with a metal bar

They hear how he degrades me and how I cry myself to sleep

Yet they tell me how great he is and the love for him I should keep

I stand in a sea of witnesses feeling hopeless and drowning in shame

When I stand in public I pray that someone sees me frowning and calls out my name

Call me and help me that is all I ask

I don’t know how much longer my will to live will last

Beyond the surface are bruises that penetrate to the bone

My heart has experienced excruciating pain and I feel all alone

The absence of physical abuse doesn’t mean I’m not hurting

Power and control of my emotions is what moves around lurking

Seeking to destroy my self-esteem and pride

Emotional abuse causes damage

Unfortunately you can’t see what’s on the inside

 

~Emotional abuse- is any kind of abuse that is emotional rather than physical in nature. It can include anything from verbal abuse and constant criticism to more subtle tactics, such as intimidation, manipulation, and refusal to ever be pleased.

Most women experience emotional abuse than physical abuse. Don’t diminish someone’s experience just because you don’t see physical scars. Men, women and children can experience abuse and never report it because society has convinced them that it’s not abuse unless you were hit. Educate yourself so you can help someone else or even yourself.

God bless!

 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

Consider making a contribution to a life changing project. Click link to donate: http://www.gofundme.com/b0n5sc

Leave a Reply

