Christian inspiration

It’s in the PRESSING

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning! Happy Tuesday! I pray your week is going well thus far.

TFTD: It’s in the PRESSING

Philippians 3:14King James Version (KJV)

14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Last week I made the decision that I would resume my running regime this Tuesday (today). Last night I began my preparation by updating my RunKeeper application on my phone, I charged my Garmin running watch and set out all of my run gear; hat, shoes, socks, runner’s ID bracelet, arm-band, jacket, pants and shirt. I was so excited the night before because the last time I ran was in May 2014. I stopped running due to my pregnancy. My bladder wouldn’t allow me to run around the corner let alone for miles and miles at a time. *Giggling* I set my alarm for 3:30a.m.; however, due to my excitement to rejoin the pavement, I rose at 3:00a.m. Yes, that says 3:00a.m. I was able to read my devotional plans, pray, feed my baby, put clothes in the washing machine and dryer, put some food in the oven, get dressed, pack my snacks, lunch and work items and load up the truck all before I left the house at 4:25a.m. to meet my run sisters for an early morning run.

Now remember I hadn’t run in nearly 10 months. Here I am 12 weeks postpartum and I’m about to get re-acquainted with the outdoors. I would be remiss if I didn’t share a little bit about my testimony. While on maternity leave, I was afflicted with excruciating pain on my left foot. I could barely walk, standing was a challenge and even sitting still caused pain. Only a few people knew I was dealing with this. Not only was I trying to recover from giving birth to a baby, but now I was nearly room-ridden. I was confined to the upstairs. Sometimes God will sit you down so He can get your attention and remind you of some assignments you need to complete. (That’s another message for another day). Let’s fast forward to today. The blessing is that I went from being unable to sit, stand or even walk without discomfort to standing outside ready to brave the pavement. *Excuse me while I shout*.

Running is so therapeutic and while I was reuniting with the pavement, the wind and nature, I was also listening and talking to Jesus. I went outside with the mindset that I was going to resume my running regime, but I was going to take it easy and do a walk-run for a total distance of about 1-1.5 miles and get home. After all, I’m a new mother, I haven’t run in over 10 months, this is a lot on one person’s body I must take it easy. These are just a few things that ran through my head. I began walking to loosen up my joints and decided I would do a walk-run to get my 1-1.5miles instead of trying to run straight through. Jesus and I went back and forth through this mornings experience. I used mailboxes and street lamps to determine my walk-to-run ratio. I would get to a certain street lamp and begin running and then I would see a mailbox up ahead and say when I get to the 5th mailbox I will start walking. It was then that Jesus said get to the corner. So I was like “Umm kay Jesus.” I would run and get to the corner. I immediately resumed my speed walking and began scouting my next street lamp or mail box that would signify my next run cycle. During the entire run Jesus and I went back and forth. I even told my run sister that I was only doing part of the route because I had to adjust. She said, “We don’t leave anyone behind, so go ahead and walk if you need to.” I felt like she had been talking to my personal Jesus. There was no way out of me.

Every time I ran the distance got longer and longer. I would say when I was going to stop and I heard Jesus say if you can make it that far you can make it to the next mailbox, street lamp or even corner. My legs were beginning to ache, but I would push a little harder. I went out there with the mindset that I could only do so much because I was just getting back into the groove, but Jesus reminded me of who I AM and that it’s in the pressing that I get the blessing. God reminded me that my present reality doesn’t dictate His perfect will for me. *PRAISE BREAK*

The word press in Greek is dioko (Lexicon: Strong’s G1377), which means to make to run, to put to flight, to run swiftly or to press on: figuratively of one who in a race who runs swiftly to reach the goal. God wants us to run swiftly to Him. He wants us to stop limiting ourselves by making excuses. He wants us to PRESS! It’s in the pressing that you get to the next level. It’s in the pressing that you surpass pain to euphoria. It’s in the pressing that you go from I can’t to I can. It’s in the pressing that you go from being afraid to a being a conqueror. It’s in the pressing that you go from weak to strong. It’s in the pressing that you finish the task to the glory of the Lord!

This morning I completed 3 miles with the help of the Holy Spirit. Jesus dismantled my excuses and encouraged me to PRESS! What do you need to press towards today? Don’t psych yourself out. What have you been afraid of? Perhaps it’s starting that new business-PRESS. Maybe it’s applying for that new job-PRESS. Perhaps it’s applying for that new home, going back to school, starting that ministry, etc. No matter what it is I URGE YOU TO PRESS!!!

Have a blessed day PRESSING towards your blessing!


Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

Consider making a contribution to a life changing project. Click link to donate: http://www.gofundme.com/b0n5sc

Comments on: "It’s in the PRESSING" (1)

  1. I can’t tell you how much I needed to hear that today. We need to collaborate soon.

Leave a Reply

