Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning! Happy Wednesday to you all! I pray your week is going well.

TFTD: Prayer and Fasting

Mark 9:28-29 (NKJV)

28 And when He had come into the house, His disciples asked Him privately, “Why could we not cast it out?”

29 So He said to them, “This kind can come out by nothing but prayer and fasting.”[a]

Think of the mother whose child is acting unruly in public and she gives her child a stern look and they instantly behave. Or perhaps you can imagine the supervisor who walks into the office meeting that was spiraling out of control and miraculously the “climate” of the room changes. Sometimes the mere presence of authority can shift things. However, there are instances that require MORE.

Often times I can go throughout my day and exhibit a level of control as it relates to my relationships, my job, finances, ministries, etc. It seems like things are going right and I have a handle on my day and all of a sudden a monkey wrench is thrown into the mix. Why can’t I handle this situation, why can’t I cast this “demon” out, why doesn’t my usual methods work? Have you ever asked yourself these questions when challenges arise?

Well, I have great news! The reason why your usual methods aren’t working is because SOME things only come by prayer and fasting! Much like the disciples in Mark Chapter 9, I find myself baffled by my inability to do what I am normally capable of doing. But then God reminded me through the text that some things can’t be changed through the normal day-to-day functions. Some things require a level of surrender, humility and sacrifice. But, you do pray, you say. Well there is a difference between praying over your food and thanking God for waking you up this morning and praying until heaven opens! But, you do fast, you say. Well there is a difference between turning down your plate because corporately your church is fasting for a new campaign or doing it for detox purposes and laying aside things of the flesh in order to hear from GOD.

Some things you have to tap into the spiritual realm in order for God to manifest in the natural. I know you are used to handling certain situations on your own, but now is the time to seek God on when to pray and fast. Fasting should not be restricted to one time of the year. On the contrary, you should fast all throughout the year. If you want to see lasting change in situations, you may need to fast and pray.

Don’t get discourage when your usual methods fail. Rejoice, because it may mean you need to fast and pray. God will give you strength for the journey. Bombard heaven with your petitions. Tap into your supernatural power and ignite your spiritual gifts through fasting and prayer.

If you are wondering when you should start-I would say RIGHT NOW!

Have a blessed day!

 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

Leave a Reply

