Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning everyone!  Happy Monday to you all!  I know some of you are not morning people and the rest of you are not MONDAY MORNING PEOPLE, but I declare today a day that the LORD has made and we ALL need to be glad and rejoice in it.

Thought for the day: A new day means a new start

Psalm 118:24 (New King James Version)

24 This is the day the LORD has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Today is the first day of March.  February is over.  Yesterday is gone.  The problems and troubles of yesterday and even a month ago are in the past.  Today is a new day and the good news is you get a new start.

We often get so preoccupied with our problems that we carrying them into a new day.  We pack up our anxiety, stress, and fear from yesterday and sit them on the top of our “to do list” of today.  WHY?  Today is a new day!  Today means you get a new start!

You get a new start at making amends with your brother and sister who offended you yesterday.  You get a new start at demonstrating your faith in God to provide for you yet another day.  You get a new start to show love to your enemies.  You get a new start to get things right with God.  You get a new start at praising God for this new day.  And you have the audacity to carry your grudges, lack of faith, nasty attitudes, and fears into today.

The scripture says “This is the day the LORD has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.”  It doesn’t say this is the day that I will bring all my troubles and mope around as if I am defeated and complain and murmur about life.  It says THIS IS THE DAY- THIS IS YOUR NEW START that the LORD MADE-HE MADE THIS DAY FOR YOU!  SOMEONE DID NOT WAKE UP THIS MORNING!  BUT GOD SAW FIT TO GIVE YOU ANOTHER CHANCE.  A NEW START!

Do not take today for granted.  It’s time to release the problems of yesterday and rejoice in what God has given us today.  Release that grudge, release that worry, release that stress, release that fear, release that anger, release that frustration and rejoice in your new day your new start.

I don’t know about you, but I thank the Lord for another chance to get things right.  I thank God for a new start to show His love to others.  It’s a privilege and an honor to be waken up by my Father.  SO TODAY, I’m going to make the best of my NEW START!

Food for thought:  Yesterday is gone, tomorrow is not promised, all you have is today.  What will you do with your new start?

Have a blessed Monday!

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis     

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "A new day means a new start" (3)

  1. sandra wright said:

    Good Morning Sis Nicole,
    Amen, amen and Amen!! All you said is so true and I really enjoyed reading. You’re truly a blessing.
    I subscribed both my emails, you can add this one to my name or just have for your records. I am able to get emails on my phone no matter where I am. I would love for you to show me how to get started with this application.
    God blessings to you
    Sandra

  2. I posted part of this devotion (most of it!) to our church Facebook page. I gave full credit to you with a link back to this site. Thank you!

Leave a comment