Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good morning!  Give God praise for a glorious Tuesday.  He woke you up this morning, clothed you, put food on your table, placed a roof over your head, gave you a sound mind, and these are only a few reasons why today is so glorious.  Remember to rejoice in all things.  God is truly in the blessing business.  We just have to open our eyes, minds, and hearts to see all of the blessings that sit before us.

TFTD: Can’t we all just get along?

Romans 15:5-6(NIV)

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Why is there so much tension and dissension in the church, in our homes, in the schools, on our jobs, and in our community?  Is it because we are all creatures born in sin?  Maybe it’s because of all of our different personalities.  No matter what the reason is, as believers of Christ, we need to make it our business to get along with everybody.  I know that seems like a tough task, but it is possible.  If Jesus did it, then surely we can do it with His Spirit dwelling in us.

“Can’t we all just get along?”  I mean seriously, can we intentionally work  towards following Christ’s example and love one another?  The Word of God tells us to treat each other the way Christ treats us so that we can operate as one.   I took the below scripture and replaced the word “love” or the word “it” with your name in order to paint a picture.  Since God is love and He dwells within us then we should take on the characteristics of God in order to get along with others.  Read the scripture below and insert your name in the appropriate places. 

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NIV)

(Insert Your Name) is patient, (Insert Your Name) is kind. (I) do not envy, (I) do not boast, (I am) not proud. (I) do not dishonor others, (I am) not self-seeking, (I am) not easily angered, (I) keep no record of wrongs. (Insert Your Name) does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. (I) always protect, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Wow!  When I read this I see I have a lot of work to do.  Christ is the greatest example of how to love and how to get along with others.  We need to look at  every area of in our life that we are lacking and earnestly seek Christ for direction.  Don’t try to conquer everything at once.  Ask God to help you tackle one area at a time.  Re-read 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and begin allowing God to change the “bad” areas in your life so that you can accurately shine His light. 

If we all spent more time focusing on our imperfections instead of everyone elses then we could really get along! 

I am committed to allowing God to purge me of my self-righteousness so that I can better serve His people and get along with EVERYONE!  How about you? 

Can’t we all just get along! 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a comment