Christian inspiration

Sunshine’s Reflections

Good afternoon!  Happy Tuesday to you all!  I pray your day is going well.

TFTD: Don’t pick the scab!

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Earlier this month, I was at an event playing a game when I got scratched.  (Yes, we play rough…lol)  My hand was bleeding and I immediately cleaned it with an alcohol wipe and placed a band-aid on it.  A couple of days later I removed the band-aid and placed some Neosporin on it.  Over time a scab formed.  A few days ago, I noticed the scab was lifting.  I decided to help the process along by removing the scab.  Needless to say, I reopened the wound in a small area and the healing process had to start over again.

How many times have you encountered a hurtful situation that created an open wound that needed mending.  Maybe your heart was broken, your self-esteem was damaged, your mind was manipulated, your emotions toyed with and the list goes on.  You were so hurt that you thought you would never make it another day, but then you realized only Christ, prayer, and time would heal the wound.  Much like my example above, you initially took all the proper precautions, you went to God and had Him clean the wound and bandage it up and a few days, months, or even years later you removed the bandage and noticed that a scab had formed.  But instead of trusting God to fully mend the broken places you began picking the spiritual scab.  As a result of picking the scab prematurely, you inadvertently reopened the wound!

How many times have you thought you were over something and thought you were healed until you started picking the scab reopening the wound making it susceptible to infection?  We reopen the wounds of past hurts by interacting with the person who has hurt us before God released us too.  Or maybe we are in denial that the pain really exist.  Or perhaps we think we’ve got it all under control and we want to prove to the world that we are stronger than they thought so we jump into something new just to uncover that we never were healed in the first place!  DON’T PICK THE SCAB!!! 

God’s grace is sufficient.  When you are wounded allow God to mend the broken pieces.  Don’t rush the healing process.  When you rush the healing process you don’t allow God to adequately repair what was broken.  When you pick the scab you start the clock over on the healing process and you subject the wound to deeper infection.  You could subject yourself to deeper emotional turmoil, heartache, and distress.  If you trust God enough to go to Him first, then trust Him enough to heal you ENTIRELY!

Don’t pick the scab!  I was reminded this week not to pick the scab in the physical and God led me to the spiritual connection.  Let Him do what He does best.  And yes, there will be a scar, but that scar will serve as a reminder of what happened and you will be more cautious the next time.  Don’t pick the scab and don’t forget the experience. 

Have a blessed day! 

Mrs. Nicole “Sunshine” Ellis, MBA

Can’t breathe: Try Spiritual CPR: Consistent in praying, Persistent in pursuing the knowledge of God, and Resistant to temptation.

© Nicole Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog, 2009 to 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blogs author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Nicole L. Ellis and Sunshine’s Reflections Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Comments on: "Don’t pick the scab!" (2)

  1. This word was for me! You remember what I confided in you a while back. It’s been 4 months and I’m still healing. Every once in a while, I pick the scab or I allow others to pick it for me.. Thank you for this word. I’m not going to rush the healing process.

    • Glad you’re going to stop picking the scab and aware of the fact that other people are picking it too. Allow healing to take place. In God’s timing you will be made new.

Leave a comment